ESL teaching certification

If you have a question for an English as a Second Language teacher, please post your message here.

Moderator: Keith Clausen

ESL teaching certification

Postby Mindful Wanderer » Mon, 19 May 2014 11:39:16 -0500

I have had several years of ESL teaching experience overseas...and as a volunteer teaching ESL in my home town in WA state plus more than 10 years of experience as instructor of various courses in the military and as civilian with the Federal government. However, I still do not have my ESL certification. I can't afford the expensive in-class courses advertised by various institutions (like CELTA) so I'll have to settle for an online course to get my certification. I am not sure, however, which institution or course program on line I can take to obtain an ESL certification that would be considered appropriate and acceptable by most ESL schools abroad.
Appreciate hearing from ESL certified teachers to advise me on this matter.

Fred Straight
Mindful Wanderer

How many legs does a cat have?: 4

Re: ESL teaching certification

Postby augtutor.com » Tue, 20 May 2014 06:53:47 -0500

I got TEFL certified using http://www.teflonline.com/

Most international language schools honor this certification and you can get certified for about $220. It was relatively easy... especially if you have taught before. Having taught for many years myself, I was able to breeze through the lessons faster that the time allotted.
augtutor.com

Postby Mindful Wanderer » Mon, 02 Jun 2014 12:36:10 -0500

augtutor.com wrote:I got TEFL certified using http://www.teflonline.com/

Most international language schools honor this certification and you can get certified for about $220. It was relatively easy... especially if you have taught before. Having taught for many years myself, I was able to breeze through the lessons faster that the time allotted.

======================================================================================