ESL Česká republika a Slovensko do's and don'ts

General forums for teachers to post message to other ESL teachers around the world.

Moderator: StudentGuru

ESL Česká republika a Slovensko do's and don'ts

Postby Matthodonín » Thu, 05 Jun 2014 10:25:58 -0500

Hi my name is Matt. I am a fairly new TEFL/ESL teacher. I have been living and working on the czech/slovak border for 9 weeks now. It has been great but I would like to share some tips so your start to TEFL will be even smoother than mine was.

First some cultutal tips and do's/don'ts in the classroom, out and about and driving.

Secondly the positives and negatives that I have encountered during my first 2 months.

So some do's and don'ts

Do

Make sure you shake hands with every new person that you meet within a business context especially in schools. Most important is the director (what they call the headteacher or principal) and each class teacher especially if they show you around or get you coffee.

Do look people in the eye especially when shaking hands

Shake hands with teachers/director at the end of the school day

It is very important here and natives won't always be the first to offer their hand so make sure that you offer yours.

Do say Dobrý den (good day) or other small greezing in czech which you may have picked up or learnt in class but then leave any czech words you know at the door. They are impressed that you make the effort to communicate with them but you are there as a native speaker so you are not expected to speak more than a couple of words and it could hinder your success if those words spill into your classes.

Plan plan plan and have a physical official lesson plan on the desk for the teacher to see

I don't mean write pages of super detailed notes or min by min account of what you will do. Just make sure for each lesson you have thought about the grade/ability or the class eg grade 5, the topic eg sports and what tense you are using.